Last updated June 28, 2018

To better understand whether you should perform a void or refund, see the support article What are the Differences Between Voiding vs Refunding and Invoice?

Refunding an invoice creates a reversed copy of the invoice with the same prices and cost averages that it was sold for. However, it is dated for today and left open, so you must still save the invoice and record the refunded payment.

How To Perform a Refund:

  1. From the side navigation, select Selling > Invoices.

  2. Find the invoice in question and select View or Edit.

3. From the top-right corner, select Special > Refund Invoice.

4. Select Submit.

How To Perform A Void

A void is is the best option if a sale has been accidentally entered in twice or if the sale never actually took place.  It creates a 1 : 1 copy of the original invoice (with the same date, costs, and associated information) with negative quantities.

  1. From the side navigation, select Selling  > Invoices.
  2. Find the invoice in question and select View or Edit.

3. From the top-right corner, select Special > Void Invoice.

4. If you need to make modification to the voided invoices (such as changing an incorrect quantity)   Uncheck Immediate Post so that you are free to modify it before you post (save) it.  If you need to perform a void without making changes, leave Immediate Post checked.

5. If a payment has NOT occurred, uncheck Also Reverse Payment otherwise leave it checked.

6. Select Submit.

Making Changes to a Voided Invoice Before Posting 


Sometimes you may need to make changes before posting an invoice. For example, if you accidentally sold 2 of a product,  but only meant to sell 1, you could void it, leave it open for editing and change the quantity to -1.

7.  From the top-right corner, select Actions > Edit.

8. Make changes to individual rows as necessary. If you need to remove a row, right click on both the product and deposit you want to remove.  Select Remove Row.


9. Select Done by selecting the Wrench icon when you are finished and ready to post.

10. When you are ready to post, select Edit > Save

Did this answer your question?